ISTA Global Board Updates

The ISTA Global Board of Directors is pleased to announce the election of Greg Batt, Associate Professor at Clemson University, as its new Chair. Greg succeeds, Sam Sheppard Fidler, Vice President Europe with Smithers, who will remain on the board serving as Immediate Past Chair. Bill Green, Senior Technical Staff Member (STSM) - Asset Transit Quality and Protection with IBM was also elected as Vice Chair.  ISTA is very fortunate to have these accomplished and committed members of our community to lead the association.
ISTA is also pleased to welcome three new members at-large directors to ISTA’s Global Board of Directors. New board members include Michelle Bryson, Senior Manager, Packaging Innovation with PepsiCo, Eric Joneson, Vice President of Technology with Lansmont and Rodney L Prater, Principal Packaging COE with SC Johnson. Each individual has extensive experience in the packaging industry and will provide valuable input and perspective to ISTA.
Four individuals recently completed their terms and ISTA would like to express our deep appreciation for their outstanding service to our Board of Directors. The departing members include: Matthew Daum, Director, Michigan State University School of Packaging, Jim Southwell, Vice President, Product Strategy and Quality at Packaging Corporation of America, Javier Zabaleta, CEO & Director General with ITENE and Eric Henderson, Director, Global R&D Packaging, PepsiCo. They have all played instrumental roles in guiding our mission with their insights and unique expertise.

Congratulations to all and thank you to all ISTA members who participated in this important election process.

ISTA Global Board of Directors
  • Chair Greg Batt, Clemson University - USA
  • Vice Chair Bill Green, IBM Corporation - USA
  • Immediate Past Chair Sam Sheppard Fidler, Smithers - United Kingdom

Council & Division Chairs:
  • Standards Council Chris Phan, PMI Worldwide - USA
  • Certification Council Kyle Dunno, Rochester Institute of Technology - USA
  • Education Council Patrick McDavid, Michigan State University - USA
  • Research Council Quinto Marini, UPS - USA
  • North American Division Michael Gabriel, Land O'Lakes - USA
  • European Division Stuart Roberts - United Kingdom
  • China Division Li Hua, China National Packaging Corp. - China
  • Asia Pacific Division Jongkyoung Kim, Korea Conformity Laboratories - Korea

  • Michelle Bryson, PepsiCo - USA
  • Nora Crivello, Westpak - USA
  • Greg Fornasiero, The Home Depot - USA
  • Eric Joneson, Lansmont Corporation - USA
  • Jill Martin, Dow Packaging and Specialty Plastics - USA
  • Rodney Prater, SC Johnson - USA
  • Matt Thompson, Sealed Air - USA
  • Jonathan Quinn, Nova Chemicals - USA
Michelle Bryson
Senior Manager, Packaging Innovation

A 30-year Packaging Development leader, Michelle joined PepsiCo 13 years ago. She has supported the R&D team in a variety of Packaging leadership roles and is currently serving as Sr. Manager of Innovation for the Tropicana Business Unit. Michelle has a passion for Unit Load Simulation, conducting Proof of Principle and recently Verification work with a 3DOF system, verifying it as a viable tool for speed to market and problem solving. Michelle has led the packaging Lab for 6+ years during her tenure, leading strategy, qualifying the lab for ISTA certification, and developing standard training protocols, in addition to leading capital acquisition for the lab. Michelle has called Chicagoland home for the past 18 years, with her 2 (now grown) daughters, and 2 fur babies, (think Dogs on Deployment!) Michelle has her Bachelor’s degree from Michigan State, School of Packaging, and has received her Lean Six Sigma, Green Belt Certification.​

Eric Joneson
Vice President of Technology

B.S. in Packaging from Michigan State University. Activities: Board of Directors - International Association of Packaging Research Institutes (IAPRI), ISTA -  Advocate Council, Global Board of Directors - Past Chair; ASTM D10, US Random Vibration Expert for ISO-TC122-SC3-WG7. Achievements: ISTA CPLP Professional, numerous global technical presentations, publications and training sessions, Transportation packaging expert witness, Distribution measurement and analysis expert.​
Rodney L Prater
Principal Packaging COE
SC Johnson

Graduate of Michigan State University with a B.S. in Packaging and over 25 years in packaging industry.  Employed at SC Johnson for 20 years in the current role as a Principal Packaging COE.  Member of ASTM D10 Committee for past 3 years.  Serves as an Executive Board of Director, Aerosol Division, of the Household & Commercial Products Association (HCPA).  Member of the Plastic Aerosol Research Group LLC (PARG) and previously served 5 years as Co-Chair of the PARG Technical Committee, leading the development and validation of 22 new voluntary industry standards and methods and publishing two technical white papers as related to the study of automobile cabin temperatures and UV exposure impacts to a pressurized plastic aerosol container.  Additionally, he manages the distribution test laboratory at SC Johnson and applicable distribution test protocols.​​
See news item regarding ISTA’s Councils focused on certification, education, standards and research directly attached to our Global Board of Directors: Volunteer Structure Change